Apple Pie from Scraps!


Okay, I figure that you looked at the title and either thought “What in the world?” or “Um, you mean, ‘scratch,’ right?”  Well, I did not mean “scratch.”  I know, it’s weird to say I made it from scraps, but I found a few leftover components that work well for apple pie, so it just kind of went from there.  Here’s the story:

I was digging for something in my freezer.  I no longer remember what, but I seriously was pulling everything out while looking for whatever it was.  Oh, I know–cheese!  But that’s another story.  First, I found some cream cheese dough that we made when we made the mini pecan tarts my friend Shari gave me the recipe for (they are yum!!).  It was a little old (I won’t tell you how old), but I figured I’d defrost it and make a flat tart or something.  After all, I have more apples around than I know what to do with (my MIL knows the kids like them, so if they’re on sale, she buys us some).   Then I found leftover cinnamon sugar from a box of frozen pretzels I had (so not good for me).

So, off I was to find a pan to use.  I found a pie tin and squished the cream cheese dough into it.  I know this isn’t how you should do pie crust, but it’s how you do it for the tarts, and it would really stick to the rolling pin.  Next I sliced up some apples (three, I believe) and started sprinkling in cinnamon sugar.  I have no idea how much I used, but the apples all had a light coating on them.  I placed them in the shell and took a picture.

Cinnamon apples in cream cheese dough.

Cinnamon apples in cream cheese dough.

Hm, needs something on top, right?  So, I dug out the Better Homes & Gardens cookbook and found a crumb topping recipe.  I made some and put it on.

That's looking better.

That’s looking better.

I baked it at about 350 (maybe it was 375) for about an hour.  Half-way through, it was getting really brown on top, so I put a layer of tinfoil over it so it wouldn’t get burnt.

So, here’s the result:

I forgot to take a picture before cutting (I was eager to eat it).  Oh, well.  At least I got a picture before it was half-eaten, right?

I forgot to take a picture before cutting (I was eager to eat it). Oh, well. At least I got a picture before it was half-eaten, right?

Looks good, doesn’t it?  It really is.  As a matter of fact, I’m sitting here polishing it off as we speak.  It’s my lunch–don’t tell the family that!!!

Leave a Reply

