Homemade Magic Shell


So, I finally got around to trying the homemade “Magic Shellrecipe that I’ve seen over and over again on Pinterest.  You can find the recipe I used at Whipperberry.com (link goes right to the recipe).  I used 8 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips with the 2 Tbsp of coconut oil, and I loved it!

Things you should note:

  1. It takes longer to harden than I remember the original Magic Shell taking.
  2. The coconut oil does lend a coconut flavor to it.  I love coconut, so this is no problem for me.  I intend to experiment in the future to see if mint oil can make it mint-flavored and cover the coconut (mint was my favorite Magic Shell flavor).
  3. It is a bit thicker than the original Magic Shell.  Even when I put it on the ice cream hot (which melts the ice cream), it was pretty thick.
  4. It is super easy to make!  (Two ingredients in a double boiler–it doesn’t get much easier.)

The one thing I wasn’t sure of was if I could store it.  The recipe made more than we used, so I stuck it in a plastic container.  The result is that it does harden some while resting, but if I pop it in the microwave for 15 seconds and stir it, it is ready to go again.  At that point it is warm but not so hot that it melts your ice cream a lot.  Update:  It turns out that after a few days, it hardens completely and re-heating doesn’t work so well.  I’ll keep experimenting to see if I can figure out a fix for this problem.  I tried adding a little bit of water to the dried chocolate, which seemed to help a little, but not enough.   I’ll update again if I figure it out!

Image

The homemade magic shell after being stored. As you can see, it is a bit solidified at this point.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Magic Shell

Leave a Reply

