Mug Brownie, My Way


So, if you don’t know me, you probably don’t know that I’m a chocolate addict.  Truly–if I go a day with no chocolate, I get cranky.  So, when I saw this recipe  for a mug brownie on Pinterest, I had to try it.  It was pretty good, but it was missing something.  On top of that, it was more dense and cakey than I really like my brownies.  Ideally, I like them incredibly chewy.

To give you an idea of how dedicated I am to chewy brownies, I have a little story for you:  I got a box of Ghiradelli brownie mix at Sam’s Club and made them per package instructions.  They were very good flavor-wise but too cakey.  I started to think about it, and I realized that other brownie mixes have a slightly shorter baking time for chewy brownies AND they use more eggs; Ghiradelli only uses one.  On top of that, I thought they used different amounts of oil and such, too, so I searched the Internet for the instructions for one of the other brownie mixes I buy and used those instructions to make my Ghiradelli brownies.  Guess what?  Perfection!  So, I taped the other instructions to the Ghiradelli box for the final bags of brownie mix, so I could make them exactly how I like them.

So, what was I to do about this imperfect mug brownie recipe?  For a while I just left it.  And if I made it, I put ice cream on top (everything’s better with ice cream, right?).  Then I stumbled across a lower calorie mug brownie recipe which had vanilla in it.  Bingo!  I figured this was the ticket.  Unfortunately, when I made it, I forgot the vanilla, and it was even more blah than the first one.  Oops!  But, I was sure that vanilla was the key.  So, I played around, combining the two recipes.  The first version I came up with was good, but still too dense and cake-like for me.  The second version looked too watery, but when I cooked it, it was more light and chewy, and I’ve been making it this way since.  The only thing I don’t like is how much oil I have to put in to make it this way, and I think eventually, I will get some egg product and play around with substituting some of that for some of the oil.  Or maybe I’ll just whip up an egg and make sure I make several within a couple days to use it all. Anyway, here is my current recipe…

Mug Brownie:

4 Tbsp flour
3 Tbsp sugar (can use up to 4, but I found that too sweet)
2 Tbsp cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
3 Tbsp oil (if you want more cake-like brownies, use 2 Tbsp)
2 Tbsp water (if you want cake-like brownies, use 3 Tbsp)
1/8 tsp vanilla (approximately–I guestimated using a 1/4 tsp measure)
pinch of salt

Mix all ingredients in your mug.  You can also add nuts, if you like.  I add walnuts, myself.  Microwave on high for about 1 minute, 15 seconds.  This can vary by microwave; I determined this time by putting it in for 1 minute, then adding 15 when it wasn’t done.

When it comes out, it is VERY hot.  I mix mine up to help it cool, though it doesn’t look as pretty after mixing.  Ice cream cools it down faster, but that’s only if you want an extra indulgence.  🙂

Mug brownie with a sprinkle of powdered sugar. And yes, that is MY Lilo and Stitch mug. I love that movie.

Leave a Reply

