What to Do with Those Ugly Maternity Monitor Bands


A little over two years ago, when I was pregnant with my son, I was put on twice-a-week fetal monitoring due to my advanced age (over 35).  They gave me the stretchy bands that hold the monitoring devices to my belly to keep so they wouldn’t have to waste new ones each time I came in.  When I had my son, I was going to throw them away, and my husband told me not to because I could make something out of them.  “What on earth would I make out of these ugly things?” I said.  He suggested a band to hold our trash bag in place on our trash can insert while I slide it into the trash can.  “Good suggestion,” I said.  Lining the trash can has always been a struggle for me because I have a hard time keeping the edges down to tuck them into the can.

The first thing that struck me as I prepared to do this project was that the clips they used to hold the bands wrapped around my belly were actually plastic bobbins.  I now have four “new” bobbins–SCORE!  But, I digress…

I measured the distance around the can with my measuring tape:  40 inches.  I actually intended to cut the band at 40 inches, and thought I had done so, as you can see in the picture.

Image

However, the measure must have slipped, because when I re-measured, it was 39 inches.  I decided to try it anyway, and I made a small 1/4-inch seam.  I stitched over it twice since I was not using extra strong thread and I wanted to make sure it wouldn’t break easily.  As you can see, it worked.  So, thanks to my husband, I no longer have to wrestle with the trash can liners!

Image

Below, the band around the trash can insert/liner and bag.

Image

Leave a Reply

